PDA

View Full Version : Real or not ?


lizzie
15-04-2006, 10:09 PM
As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the
PayPal system. We recently noticed that your account was accessed by unauthorized third party. Because protecting the security of your account is our primary concern, we are forced to limit the access to sensitive PayPal account features. We realise that this may be an inconvenience but please understand that this temporary limitation is for your protection.
Case ID Number: PP-042-818-072

https://www.PayPal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=complaint-view


Your Personal Data includes information that can identify you as a specific individual, such as your name, address, phone number, credit card number or e-mail address are stored in your account. Is strongly recommend that you log into your account and verify your Personal Data. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

To review your account and some or all of the information that PayPal used to make its decision to limit your account access, please visit the Resolution Center https://www.PayPal.com/ . If, after reviewing your account information, you seekfurther clarification regarding your account access, please contact PayPal by visiting the Help Center and clicking "Contact Us". We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help and protect you and your account. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department

PayPal Email ID PP520952

DRWX
15-04-2006, 10:19 PM
I think this might be bogus. The web address is https://www.paypal.com and i thought the paypal website was http://www.paypal.com a little difference i know but its worth going to the "proper" paypal site and checking or emailing them to an address different from that in the email to confirm it..


I could be wrong it has happened once before ( me being worng not the paypal thing)

Thats my 2 cents NE way

Hope it goes ok and sorts itself out

Cheers

DRWX

lizzie
15-04-2006, 10:20 PM
Thanks i have'nt clicked on link as i was'nt sure

thanks

Ravenfire
15-04-2006, 10:21 PM
Its spam - I would just delete it. If you ever want to check your account never log in via an email link just to be sure.

lizzie
15-04-2006, 10:22 PM
thanks raven funny thing is it came to my e-mail which my e-bay in dh's name not mine

Sarah
15-04-2006, 10:23 PM
If it was sent as dear 'email address' or dear 'paypal member' then it's fake. I have the ebay toolbar which pops up to tell me if it's a fake site. Also Paypal and ebay will never give you a link to click on in an email, they will tell you to log into your account. Report it to spoof@ebay.co.uk
If it's addressed to anything other than your ebay name then it's fake.
Sarah x

Netty
16-04-2006, 01:19 AM
It is definately another PayPal phish - but quite a good one - the site looks quite authentic.

As has already been said, never click on "log in" links in e-mails - just go to the usual URL you use. Banks etc will often have a warning about recent scams on their site anyway.