PDA

View Full Version : anyone got one of these


lizzie
15-01-2006, 04:04 PM
Information Regarding Your account:
Dear PayPal Member!

Attention! Your PayPal account has been violated!

Someone with ip address 149.225.126.87 tried to access your personal account!

Please click the link below and enter your account information to confirm that you are not currently away. You have 3 days to confirm account information or your account will be locked.

Click here to activate your account




You can also confirm your email address by logging into your PayPal account at
http://paypal.com/. Click on the "Confirm email" link in the Activate Account box and then enter this confirmation number: 1036-8535-4511-9500-3892

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page.


PayPal Email ID PP059
Protect Your Account Info
Make sure you never provide your password to fraudulent websites.

To safely and securely access the PayPal website or your account, open a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and type in the PayPal login page (http://paypal.com/) to be sure you are on the real PayPal site.

PayPal will never ask you to enter your password in an email.

For more information on protecting yourself from fraud, please review our Security Tips at https://www.paypal.com/us/securitytips


Protect Your Password
You should never give your PayPal password to anyone.

Tinkabell
15-01-2006, 04:42 PM
No, but got one from someone from e-bay asking a question regarding a listing, if you press the respond now button it takes you to e-bay log in area then when you log in it goes into someones else account. Looks just like the real thing from e-bay, I got caught out and have changed passwords to e-bay and paypal. Reported it to e-bay and they say it is a spoof/fraudulant e-mail.
Will keep an eye out for this one.

lizzie
15-01-2006, 05:48 PM
Just got another one again mmm trying to log onto my account but as it stands i can't

Netty
15-01-2006, 05:59 PM
Looks to be a fake.

Forward it to spoof@paypal.com and see what they say.

Netty
15-01-2006, 06:03 PM
I think all paypal pages should begin HTPPS:// - the S being for secure sites rather than the usual http.

lizzie
15-01-2006, 06:08 PM
I have done and also shut my account down

judithbl
16-01-2006, 07:48 AM
Anything genuine from ebay or paypal doesn't have Dear Paypal member it has your name so it's Dear Joe Bloggs etc. So it's a fake. I get loads of these.

Hope this helps

Judith

Ravenfire
16-01-2006, 08:16 AM
Oh wondered why I got a message through from you Caren.

I would ignore an email like that from paypal as they are all fake,

Bunny
16-01-2006, 08:17 AM
my DH got and email that was almost the same as that, he just deletes them without reading them